Skip to main content

Announcing the 2017 Palladio Winners

Eleven firms have been cited for excellence in traditional design
palladio awards antefix

We are happy to announce the winners of the 2017 Palladio Design Awards. This is our 16th year of producing the Palladio Awards, and, as usual, the quality of projects was extraordinary. If you are not among the winners, there is consolation in knowing you were among the best of the best in traditional design. We keep all the submissions for potential stories in Period Homes, New Old House, and Traditional Building.

The Palladio awards are produced by Active Interest Media, publisher of Traditional Building and Period Homes magazines, and organizer of the Traditional Building Conference Series. The Palladio Awards jurors met on March 8th, 2017, and after six hours of deliberation, selected the following projects.

The commercial/institutional 2017 Palladio Award winners are:

Restoration and Renovation – a tie, two winners
Veteran's Room at the Park Avenue Armory
PBDW Architects with Herzog + de Meuron

Restoration of the Historic Watchbox
EYP Architects & Engineers

Adaptive Reuse/Sympathetic Addition
The Knickerbocker Telephone Company Building
Scott Henson Architect + Stephen B. Jacobs Group

New Design and Construction, more than 30,000 sq.ft.
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
OLSON LEWIS + Architects

New Design and Construction, less than 30,000 sq.ft.
Mary's Chapel
O'Brien & Keane

The residential 2017 Palladio Award winners are:

Adaptive Reuse / Sympathetic Addition
Barn Addition to a 19th Century Farm
John B. Murray Architect

New Design & Construction, less than 5,000 sq.ft.
Cahaba River House
Nequette Architecture Design

Restoration & Renovation
Alterations & Additions to a Historic Residence
Ferguson & Shamamian

New Design & Construction, more than 5,000 sq.ft.
Lost Tree Village
Fairfax & Sammons

Exterior Space
A Colonial Revival Property
Land Plus Associates

Residential & Multi-unit Projecting
The Beekman: A Thompson Hotel
Gerner Kronick & Valcarcel Architects

2017 palladio awards commercial jury

The jurors for the 2017 commercial/institutional category were: (left to right in photo): Sean Patrick Nohelty, AIA, Principal, David M. Schwarz Architects, Inc., Washington, DC; Mary Oehrlein, FAIA, Historic Preservation Officer, Architect of the Capitol; Ashley R. Wilson, AIA, National Trust for Historic Preservation, Washington, DC; and Bruce D. Judd, FAIA, Senior Preservation Architect, Quinn Evans Architects, Washington, DC.

2017 palladio awards residential jury

The 2017 residential jurors were: (left to right, back row) Gordon Bock, Traditional Building magazine; Robert Baird, Historical Arts and Casting; Christian Zapatka, Christian Zapatka Architecture; Dale Overmyer, Dale Overmyer Architects; (seated) Katherine Flanigan, Allan Greenberg Architects; and Val Hawkins, Franck & Lohsen Architects.

Traditional Building will publish the commercial/institutional winning projects in the June 2017 issue. Period Homes will feature residential award winners in the July 2017 issue. The Palladio story will also appear on our websites: and

The 2017 Palladio Awards ceremony takes place July 18 at 7 p.m. during the Traditional Building Conference in Salem, MA.

Buying Guide Spotlight

Cambek™ Designer Doors Custom Carriage House Style Garage Doors

Cambek - Designer Doors ◆

Cambek™- Designer Doors® is a manufacturer of fine custom entry doors, garage doors, and matching millwork.

Related Articles

2017 Palladio Awards Jury

2017 Palladio Awards Introduction

Excellence in traditional architecture.

Eisenhower Ridge's Building 19

2013 Palladio Awards

Sponsored by Traditional Building and Period Homes magazines, the Palladio awards recognize excellence in traditional design, in both restoration and renovation and new construction, and in residential as well as commercial, public and institutional projects.

Child's Building and Fords Amphitheater at Coney Island

2018 Palladio Award Winners

Traditional Building and Period Homes magazines and the Traditional Building Conference announce the 2018 Palladio Award winners.