Skip to main content

The 2016 Palladio Award Winners

Traditional Building, Period Homes, and the Traditional Building Conference Series are pleased to announce the 2016 Palladio Award winners.

Each year, the Palladio Awards honor outstanding achievement in traditional design. The program recognizes both individual designers and design teams whose work enhances the beauty and humane qualities of the built environment, through creative interpretation or adaptation of design principles, developed through 2,500 years of the Western architectural tradition. The Palladio Awards are the first and only national awards program for residential and commercial/institutional projects which demonstrate excellence in traditional design.

The commercial/institutional 2016 Palladio Award winners are:

Restoration and Renovation
Charles Deering Library, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL
HBRA Architects, Inc.

Adaptive Reuse/Sympathetic Addition
Cristo Rey Columbus High School, Columbus, OH
Schooley Caldwell Associates

New Design and Construction, more than 30,000 sq.ft.
Christopher Newport Hall, Christopher Newport University, Newport News, VA
Glave & Holmes Architecture

New Design and Construction, less than 30,000 sq.ft.
Immanuel Chapel, Virginia Theological Seminary, Alexandria, VA
Robert A.M. Stern Architects

Public Spaces, Parks, Gardens, Streetscapes
Steven S. Koblik Education and Visitor Center, The Huntington Library, Art Collections and Botanical Gardens, San Marino, CA
Architectural Resources Group, Inc.

Special Award for Craftsmanship
Chara Aurora Cooper Haas Pipe Organ Façade, General Church of the New Jerusalem, Bryn Athyn, PA
Historic Doors, LLC

The jurors for the commercial/institutional awards were:

David N. Fixler, FAIA, LEED BD+C AP, Principal, Design and Preservation, EYP Architecture & Engineering;

Victor F. Ortale, AIA, LEED BD+C, Business Schools Practice Leader, Associate Principal, Goody Clancy Architecture / Planning / Preservation;

Gerry J. Sullivan, AIA, LEED AP, President, Sullivan Buckingham Architects;

Mark Thaler, AIA, Partner, Lacey Thaler Reilly Wilson Architecture & Preservation.

The residential 2016 Palladio Award winners are:

Restoration & Renovation
Victorian Residence, Philadelphia, PA
Kass & Associates

Adaptive Reuse / Sympathetic Addition
Badger Hill Farm, Marshall, Virginia
Neumann Lewis Buchanan Architects

New Design & Construction, less than 5,000 square feet
Upper West Side, New York, New York
Fairfax & Sammons Architects

New Design & Construction, more than 5,000 square feet
This year two awards will be given:

French Ranch, Hidden Valley California
Michael Burch Architects

Howell House, Panama City, Florida
Eric Watson Architect

Exterior Space
New Classic, Greenwich, Connecticut
Doyle Herman Design Associates

Residential & Multi-unit Project
Eugene O’Neill Theater, Waterford, Connecticut
Centerbrook Architects and Planners

Traditional Building will publish the commercial/institutional winning projects in the June 2016 issue. Period Homes will feature residential award winners in the July 2016 issue. The Palladio story will also appear on our websites: and

The 2016 Palladio Awards ceremony takes place July 19 at 7 p.m. during the Traditional Building Conference at the Lawn Club, New Haven, Connecticut.
Congratulations to all for the extraordinary traditional design work you do.

Buying Guide Spotlight


Zepsa Industries, Inc.

Supplier of architectural woodwork: stairs, mantels, paneling, wine cellars, doors & more.

Related Articles

Stukes Residence, Nequette Architecture & Design, Palladio Award

2019 Palladio Award Winners

Traditional Building’s 2019 Palladio Award winners announced.


2020 Palladio Award Winners

Traditional Building’s 2020 Palladio Award winners are announced.

Palladio 2022 Winners

2022 Palladio Award Winners

Traditional Building’s 2022 Palladio Award winners are announced.