Skip to main content

Allan Greenberg Awarded Simons Medal

This year’s Simons Medal of Excellence awarded to Allan Greenberg, principal of Allan Greenberg Architect, based in Greenwich, CT, and Alexandria, VA.

This year’s Simons Medal of Excellence will be awarded to Allan Greenberg, principal of Allan Greenberg Architect, based in New York City, Greenwich, CT, and Alexandria, VA. Greenberg is honored for his “extraordinarily fine work as a Classical Architect and teacher,” says Ralph Muldrow, RA, Simons Professor of Architecture and Preservation, College of Charleston.

Founded in 1972, Allan Greenberg Architect has an international reputation for combining contemporary construction techniques with the best architectural traditions to create solutions that are both timeless and technologically progressive. Projects include master plans, feasibility studies, new construction, renovations, restorations, and interior and furniture design for academic, institutional, religious, commercial, residential and retail clients. Completed projects are found throughout the United States, as well as in Europe and the Middle East.

Greenberg has taught at Yale University’s School of Architecture and School of Law, the University of Pennsylvania, the Division of Historic Preservation at Columbia University, and at the University of Notre Dame. He has also written books and articles on the dynamic and enduring qualities of traditional architecture and design.

A monograph of Greenberg’s work was published in 1995, followed by George Washington, Architect, in 1999. His recent books include The Architecture of Democracy: American Architecture and the Legacy of the Revolution, published by Rizzoli in July 2006, and Lutyens and the Modern Movement, released by Papadakis Publisher in 2007, and Rizzoli will publish a monograph of his recent work in October of this year. He received the Richard H. Driehaus Prize for Classical Architecture in 2006 Greenberg was born in Johannesburg, South Africa, and was educated at the University of Witwatersrand, where he trained in Classical, Gothic and modern architecture. He worked with Scandinavian Modernist architect Jørn Utzon on the Sydney Opera House. He also spent two years working in the City of New Haven’s Redevelopment Agency after receiving his Master of Architecture degree from Yale University in 1965. Greenberg also served as Architectural Consultant to Connecticut’s Chief Justice from 1967 to 1979. He obtained U.S. citizenship in 1973.

The Simons Medal award is named for the 20th-century Charleston architect Albert Simons. It recognizes lasting achievements in traditional design, historic preservation, planning and pedagogy in the arts. The award is sponsored by the Program in Historic Preservation and Community Planning at the College of Charleston.

The inaugural Simons Medal was awarded to Mayor Joseph P. Riley, Jr. of Charleston in 2010. Other recipients have included John Milner, FAIA, and Andres Duany and Elizabeth Plater-Zyberk.

Buying Guide Spotlight

Cambek™ Designer Doors Custom Carriage House Style Garage Doors

Cambek - Designer Doors ◆

Cambek™- Designer Doors® is a manufacturer of fine custom entry doors, garage doors, and matching millwork.

Related Articles

This plaster model of the Mansion House, one of the grandest surviving Georgian town palaces in London, was created by Timothy Richards in 2005. The building was constructed after the Great Fire of London and the First Lord Mayor took up residence in 1752.

2013 Arthur Ross Awards

The ICAA has announced the winners of the 2013 Arthur Ross Awards for excellence in preserving and advancing the Classical tradition.