2016 Driehaus Prize

The University of Notre Dame School of Architecture awarded Scott Merrill this year’s Richard H. Driehaus prize winner.

The University of Notre Dame School of Architecture named Scott Merrill this year’s Richard H. Driehaus prize winner. The 14th recipient of the award, he received the $200,000 prize along with a bronze miniature of the Choregic Monument of Lysikrates at the awards dinner in Chicago in March.

In conjunction with the Driehaus Prize, the Henry Hope Reed Award was given to Eusebio Leal Spengler, city historian of Havana, Cuba. He was cited for his innovative leadership in saving the historic center of the Old Havana.

Michael Lykoudis, Driehaus Prize jury chair and Francis and Kathleen Dean of the School of Architecture noted: “Scott Merrill has demonstrated how the principles of classicism can be used as a foundation for designing buildings that respond to and express regional character while employing the richness of precedents found throughout the ages.”

Merrill, who has a master's degree the Yale School of Architecture, is the founder and principal designer at Merrill, Pastor & Colgan Architects of Vero Beach, FL. His firm has designed projects in England, Haiti, New Zealand, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Scotland, and the United Arab Emirates, as well as throughout the US, Canada and the Caribbean.

Established in 2003, the Driehaus Prize honors a lifetime contribution to traditional, classical and sustainable architecture and urbanism.

Buying Guide Spotlight

Mid-Atlantic Steel Fabrication created this custom grating..

Mid-Atlantic Steel Fabrication

Provides metal fabrication services using state-of-the-art equipment for laser cutting, metal fabrication, aluminum fabrication, CNC forming services, welding, countersinking, 3D CAD Design, powder coating & decorative metal fabrication.

Related Articles