Skip to main content

2013 Stanford White Awards

The Institute of Classical Architecture & Art presented its first annual Stanford White Awards at the historic Racquet and Tennis Club in New York City.

The Institute of Classical Architecture & Art presented its first annual Northeast Stanford White Awards at the historic Racquet and Tennis Club in New York City.

It was a “Who’s Who in Classical Architecture” on December 7, 2012, as architects, designers and builders from the Northeast turned out for the presentation of the first annual regional Stanford White Awards presented by the ICAA. Fifteen awards were presented in four residential categories and one commercial category, as well as in landscape design, historic preservation, and craftsmanship and artisanship.

The jurors for the 2012 awards were Thomas Beeby, FAIA, chairman emeritus, HBRA Architects, Chicago, IL, Calder Loth, Sr. Architectural Historian, Virginia Department of Historic Resources, Richmond, VA, and Russell Windham, principal, Curtis and Windham Architects, Houston, TX. The co-chairs for the awards program were Kate Casanta, Michael Mesko and David Rinehart.

Presenting the awards, Calder Loth noted, “Naming an architectural award in honor of Stanford White sets a very high standard. White was a lead designer of the great firm of McKim, Mead & White and blessed this country with some of its greatest landmarks. How can we think of New York without the Washington Arch, the Century Association, and alas, the lost Madison Square Garden? Just to name a few of White’s own commissions.”

“It is an honor to have served on the jury for the first Stanford White Awards,” he continued. “The jurors reviewed 102 entries, all high quality, covering ten separate categories. Out of those, we selected 15 projects meriting official recognition – very difficult choices. The submissions, of course were anonymous; we had no idea whose projects were whose.

“For selection criteria, the jury kept in mind qualities that biographer Paul Baker wrote were important to Stanford White. Those were:

‘Suitability of forms, appropriateness of scale, and harmonizing of proportions and relationships. . . . more so was ornamental detail that would both elaborate architectural motifs and delight the beholder’s eye.’”

Noting that 2012 was the 20th anniversary of the founding of the Institute of Classical Architecture & Art, Paul Gunther, president, stated: “In this year of quadruple anniversaries, we celebrate the latest addition to this endeavor with these new regional awards. The Stanford White namesake represents the fifth such local site-specific recognition amongst our 17 chapters. The example of the inaugural winners we have just seen, combined with their many fine competing applicants, sets the bar high.”

The following 15 awards were presented:

Residential Architecture – New Construction:
Ferguson & Shamamian Architects, LLP, for a new 16,000-sq.ft. residence and outbuildings in Westport, CT.
Peter Pennoyer Architects for Drumlin Hall, a 7,500-sq.ft. villa in Dutchess County, NY.
Robert A.M. Stern Architects, LLP, for a Shingle-style residence in Westport, CT.

Residential Architecture – Renovation and Additions:
Ferguson & Shamamian Architects, LLP, for alterations and additions to Pepperidge Farm in Fairfield, CT. Wright Architects PLLC with Richard Cameron for the Richard Morris Hunt carriage house in New York City.

Residential Architecture – Townhouses and Apartments:
John B. Murray Architect, LLC, for a 5,800-sq.ft. apartment on Park Avenue in New York City.
David Scott Parker Architects for the restoration of an 1882 brownstone in New York City.

Residential Architecture – Multi-Unit Buildings:
Zivkovic Connolly Architects, P.C. and John Simpson & Partners Ltd., for the Carhart Mansion, an apartment building in New York City.
Robert A.M. Stern Architects, LLP, for Fifteen Central Park West, an 886,000-sq.ft. apartment building in New York City.

Commercial, Civic and Institutional Architecture:
George Ranalli, Architect, for the Saratoga Community Center in Brooklyn, NY.

Landscape Design:
Edmund D. Hollander Landscape Architects, for Forest Retreat, a series of garden rooms in East Hampton, Long Island, NY.

Historic Preservation:
Franck & Lohsen Architects, for restoration of the 1907, 2,500-sq.ft. pergola at Old Westbury Estate on Long Island, NY.

Craftsmanship and Artisanship:
Hyde Park Mouldings, Inc., for the creation of a decorative plaster Louis XV mirror surround in New York City.
John Canning & Co., Ltd, for decorative painting in the 1870 Basilica of Saint John the Evangelist Church in Stamford, CT.
Les Metalliers Champenois Corp., for a new bronze entry door created for a building at 151 East 79th Street in New York City.

The final award of the evening was a patron award given to Lloyd Zuckerberg for his support of the Classical tradition in the built environment. He was cited for various projects, including his work as project manager on the restoration of Grand Central Terminal. “People say that I am anti-Modernist,” he said, “but I am not anti-Modernist. I am pro-choice.”

Buying Guide Spotlight

Cambek™ Designer Doors Custom Carriage House Style Garage Doors

Cambek - Designer Doors ◆

Cambek™- Designer Doors® is a manufacturer of fine custom entry doors, garage doors, and matching millwork.

Related Articles

This plaster model of the Mansion House, one of the grandest surviving Georgian town palaces in London, was created by Timothy Richards in 2005. The building was constructed after the Great Fire of London and the First Lord Mayor took up residence in 1752.

2013 Arthur Ross Awards

The ICAA has announced the winners of the 2013 Arthur Ross Awards for excellence in preserving and advancing the Classical tradition.


The Institute of Classical Architecture & Art's 2018 Stanford White Awards

The winners have been announced for The Institute of Classical Architecture & Art (ICAA)’s 2018 Stanford White Awards.

Stanford White 2020

Virtual Stanford White Awards

The Institute of Classical Architecture & Art was thrilled to host our first ever online Stanford White Awards.