Skip to main content

Palladio Awards Introduction & Meet The Jurors

Meet the jurors of the 2019 Palladio Awards, recognizing excellence in architecture.

We are thrilled to share with you the winners of the 18th annual Palladio Awards competition. This year we recognize 16 firms from across the country for their outstanding work in traditional design—seven in the commercial, institutional, and public architecture category and nine for residential work. All winners enhance the beauty and humane qualities of the built environment through creative interpretation and adaptation of design principles developed through thousands of years of architectural tradition.

This year we had a record-breaking number of entrants—our esteemed judges had the difficult task of narrowing down the awards amidst so many great entrants. We also added the categories of Craftsmanship and Interior Design, which brings two new disciplines to the awards.

The Palladio competition, which is the only national awards program that honors achievement in traditional architectural design, was created in 2002 by Clem Labine, founder of Traditional Building, Period Homes, and Old House Journal magazines. The awards are named in honor of Andrea Palladio, the Renaissance architect who created modern architecture for his time while using models from the past for inspiration and guidance. The program models the same criteria that Palladio used in his own work—projects should meet all of the functional needs of contemporary usage while applying lessons learned from previous generations to create enduring beauty.

We congratulate all of the winners. 

Awards are presented at a dinner ceremony during the Traditional Building Conference, July 16-17 at Boscobel House & Gardens in Garrison, New York.

For more information on attending the conference visit,

Meet The Jurors


David Andreozzi

David Andreozzi

David Andreozzi is the principal of Andreozzi Architects and the current president of the New England Institute of Classical Architecture and Art, a leading nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing the classical tradition in architecture, urbanism, and their allied arts. 

Kahlil Hamady

Kahlil Hamady 

Kahlil Hamady is the senior principal and founder of Hamady Architects LLC, and a registered architect. His firm, through its national and international practice, has received many awards from the Institute of Classical Architecture and Art, including four Stanford White Awards in 2013, 2014, and 2016, the 2014 inaugural John Russell Pope Award as well as the prestigious 2015 Palladio Award.

Jacob D. Albert

Jacob D. Albert

Jacob D. Albert is an architect and partner at Albert, Righter & Tittmann Architects in Boston. Their practice specializes in single-family houses and small institutional projects. Jacob studied at Yale where he received both his B.A. and M. Arch. He is a past board member of the national Society of Architectural Historians. He served for ten years as secretary of the Society of Architectural Historians New England Chapter and for eight years on the Cambridge Historical Commission. He is currently a trustee of Historic New England.


William Young

William Young

William Young was on the staff of the Boston Landmarks Commission for more than two decades, overseeing the historic retail district of Newbury Street among others. Following his retirement as the BLC’s Director of Design Review, William began a second career in the private sector, joining Epsilon Associates as a senior consultant in 2015. As he guides the firm’s diverse range of clients to meet historic preservation regulations at the local, state, and federal levels. 

Jean Carroon

Jean Carroon

Jean Carroon is a preservation architect, author, educator, and a tireless advocate for the stewardship of existing buildings. She is the current president of the Boston Society of Architects/AIA, and a principal at Goody Clancy, a Boston-based design firm committed to building social, economic, and environmental value through a diverse practice embracing architecture, planning, and preservation.

Paul Kuenster

Paul Kuenster

Paul Kuenster is executive director of the Association for Preservation Technology International (APT), a non-profit established over 50 years ago, with 1,500 members around the world. APT is a multi-disciplinary organization dedicated to research and education about the best technology to preserve historic buildings.

Palladio Awards Trophies

Screen Shot 2019-06-17 at 11.37.22 AM

Thank you to Historical Arts & Casting, Inc. in Utah that creates the cast-bronze Palladio trophies using the traditional lost-wax method. The design is based on the anthemion, a motif that has been in continual use as an architectural enrichment for more than 2,500 years.

Buying Guide Spotlight


Timberlane, Inc.

Manufacturer of custom exterior shutters: more than 40 historically accurate, customizable styles; available in premium woods & our own maintenance-free Endurian, along with the large selection of period shutter hardware and garage doors.

Related Articles


Meet the 2019 Palladio Award Jurors

A panel of esteemed jurors will carefully select this year's Palladio Award winners from a record-breaking amount of submissions.

Palladio Award, Traditional Building

2021 Palladio Awards Introduction & Meet The Jurors

Meet the jurors of the 2021 Palladio Awards, recognizing excellence in architecture.

Stukes Residence, Nequette Architecture & Design, Palladio Award

2019 Palladio Award Winners

Traditional Building’s 2019 Palladio Award winners announced.