Skip to main content

The 2018 Palladio Awards

The 2018 Palladio Awards are produced by Active Interest Media, publisher of Traditional Building and Period Homes magazines, and organizers of the Traditional Building Conference.
2018 Palladio Awards

The 17th annual Palladio Awards competition recognizes 15 firms for outstanding work in traditional design, six in the commercial, institutional and public architecture category and nine for residential work. All winners enhance the beauty and humane qualities of the built environment through creative interpretation and adaptation of design principles developed through thousands of years of architectural tradition.

The Palladio competition is the only national awards program that honors achievement in traditional architectural design. It was created in 2002 by Clem Labine, founder of Traditional Building, Period Homes and Old House Journal magazines. “In 2001, I decided that Traditional Building and Period Homes magazines should launch an annual awards program to honor excellence in traditional design,” says Labine. “Up to that point, nearly all architectural design competitions were controlled by juries under the sway of modernist ideology. The result was that designers of new classical and historically inspired buildings received virtually no professional recognition.”

The awards are named in honor of Andrea Palladio, the Renaissance architect who created modern architecture for his time while using models from the past for inspiration and guidance. The program applies the same criteria that Palladio used in his own work—projects should meet all of the functional needs of contemporary usage while applying lessons learned from previous generations to create enduring beauty.

Says Labine: “Andrea Palladio was the paradigm I was looking for: A truly modern architect—a visionary man of his time—who made creative use of historic precedents. Thus were born the Palladio Awards.”

The awards will be presented at a dinner ceremony during the Traditional Building Conference July 18-19 in Princeton, NJ. The six winning firms in the commercial, institutional and public category are featured in this issue. The residential winners will be featured in the July issue of Period Homes.

We congratulate all of the winners. For more information on the Palladio Awards, go to

The 2018 Winners for Commercial Design

New Design and Construction, more than 30,000 sq.ft.
Robert A.M. Stern Architects for Benjamin Franklin College and Pauli Murray College, Yale University, New Haven, CT

New Design and Construction, less than 30,000 sq.ft.
Voith & Mactavish Architects and G.P. Schafer Architect for Thorndale Farm New Corporate Offices, Millbrook, NY

Restoration & Renovation
Anderson Hallas Architects for the rehabilitation of Many Glacier Hotel, Glacier National Park, MT

Adaptive Reuse
Gerner Kronick + Valcarcel, Architects DPC for the Child’s Building and Ford Amphitheater at Coney Island, Brooklyn, NY

Public Spaces
Beyer Blinder Belle Architects & Planners for the restoration of the Main Fountain Garden, Longwood Gardens, Kennett Square, PA

The Trophies

The cast-bronze Palladio trophies are created by Historical Arts & Casting, Inc., of West Jordan, UT, using the traditional lost-wax method. The design is based on the anthemion, a motif that has been in continual use as an architectural enrichment for more than 2,500 years.

The Jury

A jury of distinguished design professionals was selected by the editors of Traditional Building and Period Homes magazines. The 2018 jurors for commercial, institutional and public architecture were:

Buying Guide Spotlight

Crown Point Cabinetry

Crown Point Cabinetry

Manufacturer of custom cabinetry in period styles: Shaker, Victorian, Arts & Crafts, Early American & traditional styles.

Related Articles

Child's Building and Fords Amphitheater at Coney Island

2018 Palladio Award Winners

Traditional Building and Period Homes magazines and the Traditional Building Conference announce the 2018 Palladio Award winners.

cristo rey columbus high school

The 2016 Palladio Award Winners

Traditional Building, Period Homes, and the Traditional Building Conference Series are pleased to announce the 2016 Palladio Award winners.

Stukes Residence, Nequette Architecture & Design, Palladio Award

2019 Palladio Award Winners

Traditional Building’s 2019 Palladio Award winners announced.