Skip to main content

2017 Palladio Awards Introduction

Excellence in traditional architecture.
2017 Palladio Awards Jury

2017 Palladio Awards Jury

A jury of distinguished design professionals was selected by the editors of Traditional Building and Period Homes magazines. The 2017 jurors for commercial, institutional and public architecture were (left to right in photo):

Sean Patrick Nohelty, AIA, Principal, David M. Schwarz Architects, Inc., Washington, DC

Mary Oehrlein, FAIA, Historic Preservation Officer, Architect of the Capitol

Ashley R. Wilson, AIA, National Trust for Historic Preservation, Washington, DC

Bruce D. Judd, FAIA, Senior Preservation Architect, Quinn Evans Architects, Washington, DC.

The 16th annual Palladio Awards competition recognizes 11 firms for outstanding work in traditional design, five in the commercial, institutional and public architecture category and six for residential work. All winners enhance the beauty and humane qualities of the built environment through creative interpretation and adaptation of design principles developed through thousands of years of architectural tradition.

The Palladio competition is the only national awards program that honors achievement in traditional architectural design. It was created in 2002 by Clem Labine, founder of Traditional Building, Period Homes and Old House Journal magazines. “In 2001, I decided that Traditional Building and Period Homes magazines should launch an annual awards program to honor excellence in traditional design,” says Labine. “Up to that point, nearly all architectural design competitions were controlled by juries under the sway of modernist ideology. The result was that designers of new classical and historically inspired buildings received virtually no professional recognition.”

The awards are named in honor of Andrea Palladio, the Renaissance architect who created modern architecture for his time while using models from the past for inspiration and guidance. The program applies the same criteria that Palladio used in his own work—projects should meet all of the functional needs of contemporary usage while applying lessons learned from previous generations to create enduring beauty.

Says Labine: “Andrea Palladio was the paradigm I was looking for: A truly modern architect—a visionary man of his time—who made creative use of historic precedents. Thus were born the Palladio Awards.”

The cast-bronze Palladio trophies are created by Historical Arts & Casting, Inc., of West Jordan, UT, using the traditional lost-wax method. The design is based on the anthemion, a motif that has been in continual use as an architectural enrichment for more than 2,500 years.

The awards will be presented at a dinner ceremony during the Traditional Building Conference July 18-19 in Salem, MA. The five commercial, institutional and public winners are featured in this issue. The residential winners will be featured in the July issue of Period Homes.

We congratulate all of the winners. For more information on the Palladio Awards, go to

The 2017 Palladio Winners for Commercial Design


PBDW Architects with Herzog + de Meuron for the restoration of the Veterans Room at the Park Avenue Armory, New York, NY

EYP Architecture & Engineering for the restoration of the historic Watchbox, Washington, DC

New Design and Construction, more than 30,000 sq.ft.

OLSON LEWIS + Architects for the Beauport Hotel, Gloucester, MA

New Design and Construction, less than 30,000 sq.ft

O’Brien & Keane for Mary’s Chapel in the Mid-Atlantic area

Adaptive Reuse

Scott Henson Architect with Steven B. Jacobs Group for the Knickerbocker Telephone Company Building, New York, NY

Buying Guide Spotlight

100 year window by hull millwork dsc09712

100 Year Window by Hull Millwork

Hull Millworks' 100 Year Window is a return to excellence and long-term performance. Brent Hull, a millwork craftsman,and custom builder has created a line of historically authentic windows built with superior materials and construction methods but with newer details for better energy efficiency.

Related Articles

2017 Palladio Awards

2017 Palladio Winners

Eleven firms have been cited for excellence in traditional design; five in the commercial category and six in residential.

watchbox at Indian Head facility

Historic Watchbox Returns Home

2017 Palladio Restoration & Renovation Winner: EYP Architecture & Engineering

Eisenhower Ridge's Building 19

2013 Palladio Awards

Sponsored by Traditional Building and Period Homes magazines, the Palladio awards recognize excellence in traditional design, in both restoration and renovation and new construction, and in residential as well as commercial, public and institutional projects.