Skip to main content

Traditional Architecture Awards

The winners of the 2016 Stanford White and the Trumbauer awards all have one thing in common—they honor beautiful architecture.

Sponsored by the New York Chapter of the Institute of Classical Architecture & Art (ICAA), the Stanford White awards were presented in 13 categories. They will be honored on December 7, 2016, at The Metropolitan Club in New York City. These winners are:

1) McAlpine for New Construction Under 5,000 sq.ft.;

2) Peter Pennoyer Architects and Ferguson & Shamamian Architects for New Construction over 5,000 sq.ft.;

3) Hamady Architects for Residential Renovations & Additions;

4) John B. Murray Architect for Residential Townhouses & Apartments;

5) Peter Pennoyer Architects for Residential Multi-Unit Projects;

6) G.P. Schafer Architect and Voith & Mactavish Architects for Commercial, Civic and Institutional Architecture;

7) Historical Concepts and S.R. Gambrel for Interior Architecture and Design for Houses;

8) Sawyer | Berson Architecture & Landscape Architecture for Interior Design and Decoration for Townhouses & Apartments;

9) Di Biase Filkoff Architects for One Room;

10) Janice Parker Landscape Architects and Doyle Herman Design Associates for Landscape Design;

11) Jayne Design Studio and Peregrine Bryant Architecture and Building Conservation for Historic Preservation;

12) Hyde Park Mouldings for Craftsmanship and Artisanship; and

13) Molly Ryan Visk and Connor Moran for Student Projects.

The inaugural Trumbauer Awards, sponsored by the Philadelphia chapter of the ICAA, honor Horace Trumbauer (1868-1938). The 2016 winners were honored in a ceremony in the Lincoln Ballroom at The Union League in Philadelphia. They are:

John Milner Architects for Residential Design over 5,000 sq.ft. and also for Residential under 5,000 sq.ft.;

Eberlein Design Consultants for Residential Interior Design and also for Commercial Interior Design;

Peter Zimmerman Architects for Renovation/Sympathetic Addition;

FFKR Architects with Perkins + Will for Commercial/Institutional/Civic;

Robinson Anderson Summers for Landscape Architecture & Design;

RLPS for Landscape Architecture & Design;

Foster Reeve & Associates for Architectural Arts/Craftsmanship;

Christopher G. Whelan for Student Project/Portfolio;

and Sylvester J. Bartos, Jr., for Honorable Mention, Student Project in Urbanism and Planning.

The deadline for submissions for the 2017 Palladio Awards is December 16, 2016.

This is the only national competition that honors traditional architecture. Winners of the 2017 Palladio Awards will be featured in the June issue of Traditional Building and the July issue of PeriodHomes.

Meanwhile, a number of other competitions for traditional architecture are in the works. Here are some upcoming deadlines for submissions:

December 8, 2016, Schutze Awards, Southeast Chapter ICAA

December 15, 2016, Bulfinch Awards, New England Chapter ICAA

December 30, 2016, Arthur Ross Awards

January 31, 2017, John Russell Pope Awards, Washington Mid-Atlantic Chapter ICAA

Buying Guide Spotlight


Zepsa Industries, Inc.

Supplier of architectural woodwork: stairs, mantels, paneling, wine cellars, doors & more.

Related Articles

In the category of Commercial, Civic & Institutional Architecture, George Ranalli, Architect, won for a new community center building at the Saratoga Avenue Community Center in Brooklyn, NY. His work included the design of the 5,500-sq.ft. new addition, and 2,500-sq.ft. of renovation. “George Ranalli’s design suavely addressed the Housing Authority budget and guidelines, which restricted low windows and required bullet-proof glass,” said Loth. “Admittedly, this is not a Classical-style building, but we can’t say it’s not a classic.”

2013 Stanford White Awards

The Institute of Classical Architecture & Art presented its first annual Stanford White Awards at the historic Racquet and Tennis Club in New York City.


The Institute of Classical Architecture & Art's 2018 Stanford White Awards

The winners have been announced for The Institute of Classical Architecture & Art (ICAA)’s 2018 Stanford White Awards.

Albert Righter & Tittman

ICAA New England Announces Third Annual Bulfinch Awards

The ICA&A New England chapter honors the best of the region's Classical design.