Skip to main content

2018 Arthur Ross Awards

The Institute of Classical Architecture & Art (ICAA) has named the 2018 Arthur Ross Award laureates and will honor them at a dinner and ceremony on May 7.

Founded in 1982 by Arthur Ross and Henry Hope Reed, the Awards recognize excellence in the classical tradition. This year, the ICAA presenting awards in six categories: Architecture, Education, History & Writing, Interior Design, Landscape Design and Patronage.

“This year the ICAA is honored to recognize practitioners, thought leaders, and patrons whose impact on the classical tradition has been truly diverse, international in scale, and nothing short of profound,” said ICAA President Peter Lyden of the 37th annual Arthur Ross Award laureates.

The Architecture award goes to Craig Hamilton of Radnorshire, UK. He is known for his monumental and sacred architecture including three new chapels and two new mausoleums and has designed several country houses. He recently designed a new commercial building which is currently under construction in Dallas, TX.

Craig Hamilton. Photo: Paul Highnam

Craig Hamilton. Photo: Paul Highnam

Elizabeth Plater-Zyberk of Miami, FL, was awarded the Arthur Ross Award for Education. She directs the Master of Urban Design Program at the University of Miami where she is the Malcolm Matheson Distinguished Professor of Architecture. She also previously served at the Dean of the School of Architecture. She currently teaches courses on urban design and built environment adaption to climate change. She is also a founding principal of DPZ Partners and a founder of the Congress for the New Urbanism.

Elizabeth Plater-Zyberk. Photo: courtesy of Elizabeth Plater-Zyberk

Elizabeth Plater-Zyberk. Photo: courtesy of Elizabeth Plater-Zyberk

Stuart Cohen, FAIA, of Chicago, IL, is receiving the award for History & Writing. An author, practicing architect and an educator, he is noted for books on Chicago’s historic architecture such as North Shore Chicago: Houses on the Lakefront Suburbs, Great Houses of Chicago and Inventing the New American House: Howard Van Doren Shaw, Architect. His work and the work of his firm, Cohen & Hacker Architects, is the subject of a monograph entitled Transforming the Traditional by Stuart Cohen and Julie Hacker.

Cover of Transforming the Traditional by Stuart Cohen and Julie Hacker.

Cover of Transforming the Traditional by Stuart Cohen and Julie Hacker.

In the category of Interior Design, the Arthur Ross Award goes to Michael S. Smith of Santa Monica, CA. He is known for projects ranging from private residences to grand hotels and has been named to Architectural Digest’s AD 100 list seven times. He is also the author of several books, including Elements of Style; Houses; Kitchens and Baths; Building Beauty; and The Curated House: Creating Style, Beauty, and Balance.

Michael S. Smith. Photo: Weston Wells

Michael S. Smith. Photo: Weston Wells

His many honors include an appointment by President Barack Obama to the Committee for the Preservation of the White House and serving as the special visual consultant to the 90 Academy Awards.

Doyle Herman Design Associates (DHDA) of Greenwich, CT, took top honors in Landscape Design. Known for traditional landscape design with a contemporary awareness, the firm was founded in 1993 by principal James Doyle and is co-led by principal Kathryn Herman. DHDA has worked on significant homes throughout the U.S. and has projects published in Veranda and Architectural Digest, among others. The firm has also received Palladio and Stanford White Awards.

Garden by Doyle Herman Design Associates. Photo: Neil Landino Jr.

Garden by Doyle Herman Design Associates. Photo: Neil Landino Jr.

In the final category, Patronage, the award program recognizes Margize Howell and Peter Kenny, co-presidents of the Classical American Homes Preservation Trust and The Richard Hampton Jenrette Foundation (CAHPT), New York, NY. The foundation owns or will inherit seven properties in New York, North Carolina, South Carolina and St. Croix, US Virgin Islands that represent classical residential architecture, period furnishings and landscapes. They are currently open for group tours throughout the year.

Before joining CAHPT, Kenny served as the Ruth Bigelow Wriston Curator of American Decorative Arts and Administrator of The American Wing at The Metropolitan Museum of Art. Formerly senior curator with Donaldson, Lufkin & Jenrette, Howell was Curator, Director of Development, and Executive Director, before being named Co-President in 2015.

The 2018 Arthur Ross jury included Phillip Liederbach (Jury Chair), William Curtis, Elizabeth Dillon, Steven Gambrel, and Alexa Hampton. Co-Chairs of this year’s Arthur Ross Awards include Suzanne Tucker, Charlotte Moss, and Stan Dixon. Honorary Chairs include Janet C. Ross, Suzanne R. Santry, Bunny Williams, and Ambassador and Mrs. William J. vanden Heuvel.

For more information, go to,, email or call 212-730-9646, ext. 107.

Buying Guide Spotlight


Nostalgic Warehouse

Vintage door hardware: solid brass, new construction or historic renovation; over 20 doorset patterns with coordinating cabinet hardware & accessories; dealers throughout US & Canada.

Related Articles

This plaster model of the Mansion House, one of the grandest surviving Georgian town palaces in London, was created by Timothy Richards in 2005. The building was constructed after the Great Fire of London and the First Lord Mayor took up residence in 1752.

2013 Arthur Ross Awards

The ICAA has announced the winners of the 2013 Arthur Ross Awards for excellence in preserving and advancing the Classical tradition.

2021 Arthur Ross Awards Honorees Adrian Taylor, Edmund Hollander, Andrew Skurman, John F. W. Rogers, Charles Miers, and Michael Lykoudis, FAIA

​​The Institute of Classical Architecture & Art Celebrates the 40th Annual Arthur Ross Awards

On Monday, October 4th, 2021, after a hiatus of nearly two years, the Institute of Classical Architecture & Art (ICAA) was proud to welcome guests back to the in-person 40th Annual Arthur Ross Awards.