Skip to main content

Richard Morris Hunt Prize

The Richard Morris Hunt Prize is an intensive and curated six-month fellowship, divisible in two or three periods, that carries a $20,000 award for registered architects to pursue cutting-edge research on emerging trends in historic preservation.

As part of the RMHP experience, the Fellow benefits from guidance and access to a network of the leading historic preservation professionals in France and the United States.

The Richard Morris Hunt Prize (RMHP) has been fostering and supporting cross-cultural professional exchange between France and the United States since 1990. U.S. design professionals study in France, and French design professionals study in the U.S. during alternating years.

In years where the applicant pool demonstrates exceptional merit, the runner-up receives a $5,000 scholarship for a shorter five-week specialized course of research and study.

The travel and research program for the American honorees will be guided by the managing team in France. The Fellow must submit a final report within one year of the last month of the Fellowship; the Scholar within six months. The reports must respond to the laureate’s research topic regarding an emerging trend in historic preservation.


Applicants must:

  • Be U.S. citizens or permanent residents
  • Be registered architects with 5+ years of work experience
  • Have a minimum of professional working proficiency speaking skills in French
  • Have the ability to travel to France for six months, spread across two or three periods.

Application criteria

For initial submissions, applicants must submit a letter of interest in French and English and their CV. Letters of interest must address:

  • Your proposed research topic
  • Your academic and work experiences that prepare you to undertake this Fellowship 
  • How you will apply this international experience to your professional career after the Fellowship.

Application process

Applications for the 2021 Richard Morris Hunt Prize are now open through August 14, 2020.

Apply today 

At the close of the application period, Architects Foundation will review applications and contact selected applicants for a phone interview. Once the phone interview is complete, selected finalists will be asked to submit a more detailed written proposal, letters of support, and their portfolio. These finalists will be invited to interview with the RMHP Grand Jury in Washington, DC.

For examples of final reports from past laureates, visit


Interested in applying for the American scholarship? Sign up to receive notifications 

Interested in supporting the Richard Morris Hunt Prize? Donate 

About Richard Morris Hunt

The Richard Morris Hunt Prize honors the memory of the first American architect to graduate from Paris’s Ecole des Beaux-Arts. Richard Morris Hunt introduced the Beaux-Arts style in the United States and was a central figure in the “City Beautiful” movement. Hunt was among the group of thirteen architects who founded The American Institute of Architects in 1857, and was AIA’s third president.


Thank you to the sponsors ($500+) and partners:

Architectural Resources Group
The American Institute of Architects
Constance Lai, FAIA
The Dona and Dwight Kendall Family Foundation
Jeffery Potter, FAIA
Kyle Brooks
R. Randall Vosbeck, FAIA Emeritus
Ron Skaggs, FAIA
Traditional Building
The William and Lia G. Poorvu Family Foundation
Architecture Resources Group
Traditional Building magazine

Buying Guide Spotlight

100 year window by hull millwork dsc09712

100 Year Window by Hull Millwork

Hull Millworks' 100 Year Window is a return to excellence and long-term performance. Brent Hull, a millwork craftsman,and custom builder has created a line of historically authentic windows built with superior materials and construction methods but with newer details for better energy efficiency.

Related Articles

Sebastian Treese

2021 Richard H. Driehaus Prize Laureate

Sebastian Treese Named 2021 Richard H. Driehaus Prize Laureate

Maurice Culot, Richard H. Driehaus Prize

Maurice Culot Named 2019 Richard H. Driehaus Prize Laureate

Maurice Culot will receive the 2019 Richard H. Driehaus Prize at the University of Notre Dame.