Skip to main content

Tanglewood Conservatories Receives Gold Medal of Achievement

Tanglewood Conservatories receives a 2021 GardenComm Media Awards Gold Medal of Achievement.
Book cover w gold award

Alan Stein & Nancy Virts, owners of Tanglewood Conservatories received the 2021 Media Awards Gold Medal of Achievement for Publisher/Producer: Book General Readership, presented by GardenComm: Garden Communicators International.

This national award recognizes individuals and companies who achieve the highest levels of talent and professionalism in garden communications. The 2021 competition had more than 135 entries in 62 categories. Recipients of the Gold Medal represent the top winners each competition category and will now compete for best of group in the areas of writing, photography, digital media, broadcast media, publishing and trade.

The dynamic duo, Alan & Nancy received the Gold Medal of Achievement for their publication entitled The Conservatory: Gardens Under Glass.

“The GardenComm Media Awards showcase the writers, photographers, editors, publishers and trade companies that have pursued excellence in gardening communication in print or electronic communications,” says Becky Heath, past president of GardenComm. “The Media Award winners have been judged by industry experts and show significant distinction and merits that exemplify exceptional work.”

Through spectacular archival and contemporary photographs and drawings of landmark structures—including the Palm House at the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew; New York’s Crystal Palace; and Singapore’s Gardens by the Bay—The Conservatory: Gardens Under Glass celebrates the patrons and designers who advanced the technology and architectural majesty of these light-filled structures. Their importance continues to grow with efforts to conserve extraordinary plants and their environments.

Buying Guide Spotlight

100 year window by hull millwork dsc09712

100 Year Window by Hull Millwork

Hull Millworks' 100 Year Window is a return to excellence and long-term performance. Brent Hull, a millwork craftsman,and custom builder has created a line of historically authentic windows built with superior materials and construction methods but with newer details for better energy efficiency.

Related Articles

barbara cohen

Barbara Cohen Receives 2020 Migliore Award for Lifetime Achievement

Barbara Cohen (Miller Druck Specialty Contracting) has been named the recipient of the 2020 Migliore Award for Lifetime Achievement. Barbara makes history as both the first woman to receive this award and the first second-generation recipient (her father, Malcolm Cohen, received the award in 2005.)

2021 Lifetime Achievement Award, Stuart Cohen

AIA Chicago’s Designight 2021 + Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient

The American Institute of Architects (AIA) Chicago Board of Directors has named Stuart Cohen, FAIA, as the 2021 recipient of the organization’s prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award.


Rugo Stone Receives 2020 Grande Pinnacle Award

Rugo Stone in Lorton, Virginia, has been named the recipient of the 2020 Grande Pinnacle Award for their work on the Trinity Church Wall Street Altar & Chancel Restoration project in New York City.