ICAA WMA John Russell Pope | EXTENDED DEADLINE 3/5/21

The 2021 ICAA Washington Mid Atlantic John Russell Pope Awards deadline has been extended.
Publish date:

CALL FOR ENTRIES - Deadline extended to 3/5/21

The Institute of Classical Architecture & Art Washington Mid Atlantic Chapter is pleased to announce the 2021 John Russell Pope Awards celebrating excellence in traditional architecture, interior design, urban design, and landscape architecture.

Screen Shot 2020-12-07 at 1.47.56 PM


Namesake of the awards, John Russell Pope (1874-1937), was a prominent architect whose many works in and around Washington, D.C., include the Thomas Jefferson Memorial and the National Gallery of Art. A New Yorker, Pope received training at the American School of Architecture in Rome (now the American Academy in Rome) and the Ecole des Beaux-Arts in Paris. He gained renown for his uniquely American interpretation of European classicism. Pope’s domestic and monumental architecture established him, according to architecture historian Stephen M. Bedford, as a “leader in the development of highly refined and restrained American classicism.”

The biennial John Russell Pope Awards recognize the best work of individuals who contribute to the legacy of classical and traditional design in the Washington Mid Atlantic region.


  • Residential New Construction – over 8000sf
  • Residential New Construction – under 8000sf
  • Residential Renovation
  • Landscape Design
  • Commercial
  • Institutional
  • Ecclesiastical
  • Urban Design
  • Historic Preservation
  • Interior Design – Residential
  • Interior Design – Commercial & Institutional
  • Artisanship*
  • Emerging Classicist – Design
  • Emerging Classicist – Drawing

*The Artisanship category considers various handcrafted and/or fabrication trades involved in the execution and/or construction of a work of architecture, interior design, or landscape in addition to the allied arts of sculpture and painting.

The John Russell Pope Awards are held every two years.
Submission Guidelines for the 2021 Awards can be found here.


Buying Guide Spotlight

01-Moore-Merkowitz Tile-Animal Series Installation - ©1990 copy

Moore-Merkowitz Tile, Ltd

Designer & manufacturer of handcrafted ceramic relief & field tile since 1986: original designs & glazes; more than 230 designs in 150 colors; for kitchen backsplashes, bathrooms, fireplace surrounds, murals, pools & more. Residential and commercial.

Related Articles

5. Christopher Newport Hall_GreatLawnView

2017 John Russell Pope Awards

The Washington Mid Atlantic chapter of the ICAA has announced 13 John Russell Pope Award winners for 2017.

ICAA Washington Mid Atlantic logo

ICAA Washington Mid Atlantic Member Survey

A new survey conducted by the ICAA Washington Mid Atlantic chapter takes the temperature on its members' current industry.


Announcing the 2020 ICAA Christopher H. Browne Drawing Tours

The ICAA’s drawing and study courses are built around the tradition of field drawing in sketchbook using methods that have been deployed by practitioners of architecture and allied disciplines since the Renaissance. Then, as now, the objective is to expand one’s compendium of precedents as resources for reference in contemporary design.