Skip to main content

2020 Brick in Architecture Awards Honor Inspired Design

41 Winners; Australia Project Wins First Craftsmanship Award
BIA awards logo_2020 002

The Brick Industry Association (BIA) has awarded the 2020 Brick in Architecture Awards, the nation’s premier design competition featuring clay brick.

From 120 entries, 41 global winners featured in this video span the United States, Australia, Canada, China and Germany with eight Best in Class winners.

An Australian project captured the competition’s first Craftsmanship Award recognizing an individual or team of masons with artful or unique brick installation.

“These exceptional projects show there’s virtually no limit to brick as a leading element of sustainable design,” said Ray Leonhard, BIA’s President and CEO.

The 2020 Best in Class winners include:


United States Land Port of Entry

Columbus, New Mexico

Architect: Richter Architects

Brick Manufacturer: Summit Brick Company

New Lakeside Georgian Estate

2020 Brick in Architecture Awards Bronze Winner Residential-Single Family Category New Lakeside Georgian Estate Greenwich, CT Architect: Charles Hilton Architects Brick Manufacturer: Redland Brick Inc. (subsidiary of Glen-Gery) 

Educational (Higher Education)

University of Kansas Medical Center Health Education Building

Kansas City, Kansas

Architect: CO Architects

Brick Manufacturer: Sioux City Brick (subsidiary of Glen-Gery)

Educational (K-12)

Taft Freshman Academy

Chicago, Illinois

Architect: STL Architects

Brick Manufacturer: Interstate Brick

Historic Renovation

University of Notre Dame’s Main Building

South Bend, Indiana

Architect: University of Notre Dame

Brick Manufacturer: The Belden Brick Company

Brick Distributor: Rose Brick

Renovation Specialist: Masonry Cosmetics, Inc.

International (also the Craftsmanship Winner)

Midland Campus, Curtin University

Perth, Western Australia, Australia

Architect: Silver Thomas Hanley Architecture / Lyons Architecture

Brick Manufacturer: Austral Bricks

Custom Residential Home, brick home

2020 Brick in Architecture Awards Silver Winner - Residential-Single-Family Category Custom Residential Home Savannah, Georgia Architect: Sottile & Sottile Brick Manufacturer: Acme Brick Company

Paving & Landscaping

First Responders Park

Westerville, Ohio

Architect: POD Design

Brick Manufacturer: The Belden Brick Company

Brick Distributor: Hamilton Parker Company

Residential – Multifamily

1720 Fairmount Avenue

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Architect: CannoDesign

Manufacturer: Palmetto Brick Company

Brick Distributor: Diener Brick Company

Residential – Single Family

High Park Residence

Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Architect: Batay-Csorba Architects

Manufacturer: Glen-Gery Corporation

Brick Distributor: Mason’s Masonry Supply, Ltd.

Craftmanship Award Winner

Midland Campus, Curtin University

Perth, Western Australia, Australia

Architect: Silver Thomas Hanley Architecture / Lyons Architecture

Mason Contractor: PWD Construction

Brick Manufacturer: Austral Bricks

The 2020 judges include Chad Christie, AIA, LEED®, BD+C, Kohn Pedersen Fox Associates, PC; Mary Demro, A&E Design; Emily Ray, AIA, Wheeler Kearns Architects and Grant Thome, AIA, Legacy LEED® AP, Hollis + Miller Architects.

See BIA’s list of all winners and Photo Gallery. More information: Tricia Mauer: or 703-674-1539.

Have a press release you’d like us to share? Send it to us here.

Buying Guide Spotlight

Indow Windows


Indow window inserts press inside your window frames without a mounting bracket to give you all the comfort and efficiency of high-end replacement windows.

Related Articles

Rowe's Wharf, Belden Brick

The Belden Brick Company Wins Ten 2019 Brick in Architecture Awards

The Belden Brick Company has been honored with 10 Brick in Architecture (BIA) Awards for 2019.

John Canning and Co. for “Mark Twain House & Museum”

2020 Bulfinch Award Winners

The New England Chapter of the ICAA announces the winners of the ninth Bulfinch Awards.

Bulfinch Awards logo

2020 Bulfinch Awards Call for Entries

Learn how to enter the 2020 Bulfinch Awards.