Skip to main content

Duncan G. Stroik is 2017 Clem Labine Award Laureate

Duncan G. Stroik, AIA, has been named winner of the 2017 Clem Labine Award.
clem labine award

Clem Labine Award

Stroik is an author, editor, educator and classical architect—and heads up the firm of Duncan G. Stroik Architect, LLC, in South Bend, IN. He was also one of the first professors in the Classical Architecture Program at the University of Notre Dame, working with Thomas Gordon Smith, founder of that program.

“This annual award is given for exceptional work that promotes beauty and humane values in the built environment—with primary emphasis on unpaid, pro bono service,” said Clem Labine, founder of Traditional Building, Period Homes and Old House Journal magazines.

Duncan Stroik

Duncan Stroik

“In addition to his professional work as an architect and educator, Duncan Stroik was cited for his pro bono endeavors with The Institute for Sacred Architecture,” Labine added, “with special notice taken of his splendid achievements in editorship of Sacred Architecture Journal. Through the Journal he has created a global voice that advances the cause of beauty and transcendence in sacred architecture.”

The award will be presented on July 18, during the Traditional Building Conference, in Salem, MA, along with this year’s Palladio Awards. Previous recipients of the Clem Labine Award include Alvin Holm, Alvin Holm A.I.A. Architects; Steven W. Semes, Professor and Director of the Graduate Program in Historic Preservation, University of Notre Dame School of Architecture; Ray Gindroz, cofounder of Urban Design Associates (UDA), Jean Carroon, FAIA, LEED, Principal for Preservation, Goody Clancy; Milton W. Grenfell, Grenfell Architecture; Robert Baird, Vice President, Historical Arts & Casting, and Christine G.H. Franck, of the Center for Advanced Research in Traditional Architecture (CARTA) at the University of Colorado Denver College of Architecture & Planning.

Duncan Stroik will be featured in the August issue of Traditional Building and in Period Homes magazine as well. For more information, see the profile on Duncan Stroik at

Buying Guide Spotlight


Zepsa Industries, Inc.

Supplier of architectural woodwork: stairs, mantels, paneling, wine cellars, doors & more.

Related Articles

The Our Lady of the Most Holy Trinity Chapel at Thomas Aquinas College in Santa Paula, CA, combines Early Christian, Renaissance and Spanish Mission styles to create a new centerpiece for the campus.

Duncan G. Stroik Architect: Sacred Architecture in the New Century

Classical architect. Professor. Author. Editor. All of those hats fit Duncan G. Stroik of Duncan G. Stroik Architect, LLC, of South Bend, IN.

Trinity Chapel

Profile: Duncan Stroik

Duncan G. Stroik, “a one-man phenomenon who has changed the landscape of American Catholic church design,” is the recipient of the 2017 Clem Labine Award.

clem labine award

2018 Clem Labine Award Winners

Michael W. Mehaffy and Nikos A. Salingaros are the 2018 Clem Labine Award winners.