Skip to main content

Whether historic or newly constructed, traditional-style buildings speak of the past and hold promise for a bright future.

But it’s the people behind the brick and mortar and clapboard—the architects, the interior designers, the landscape architects, the preservationists, the craftsmen—who have stepped in and stepped up to save or revitalize their heritage who also deserve some of the celebratory spotlight.

With that in mind, here are 25 of those individuals who have dedicated their careers to the classical style in myriad and outstanding ways that are serving as models around the globe. 

We are going to start off our 25 with Jill Gotthelf, who is the recipient of the 2022 Clem Labine Award. Named after the founder of Traditional Building, Period Homes, and Old House Journal magazines, the annual award is given for exceptional work that promotes beauty and humane values in the built environment. 

Buying Guide Spotlight

Crown Point Cabinetry

Crown Point Cabinetry

Manufacturer of custom cabinetry in period styles: Shaker, Victorian, Arts & Crafts, Early American & traditional styles.

Related Articles

Jill Gotthelf_3  Headshot

The 25 - Jill H. Gotthelf — 2022 Clem Labine Award Recipient

A passionate pioneer of sustainable preservation, architect Jill H. Gotthelf, principal of WSA|ModernRuins®, has championed continuing cross-collaboration between preservation professionals and green building advocates throughout her 30-year career.

CLA 5 Orenco Station 1

2018 Clem Labine Award: Michael W. Mehaffy and Nikos A. Salingaros

See how winners of the 2018 Clem Labine Award, Michael W. Mehaffy and Nikos A. Salingaros, are championing the art and science of beautiful places.

Thomas Kligerman 1  2016

The 25 - Thomas A. Kligerman

Through his award-winning architectural firm, Ike Kligerman Barkley, Thomas A. Kligerman has designed and renovated residences around the world that fuse the past and present so exquisitely that they have become models in the traditional field.