Skip to main content

2016 Arthur Ross Awards

For Excellence in Architecture, Civic Design, Education, Fine Art & Photography and Stewardship.

The Institute of Classical Architecture & Art has announced the2016 Arthur Ross Awards. Duncan Stroik was named for Architecture, Cuidad Cayalá, Guatemala, for Civic Design, Robert A.M. Stern for Education, Anne Day for Fine Art and Photography, and the Paula Wallace and the Savannah College of Art and Design (SCAD) for Stewardship.

Stroik is a practicing architect and a professor of architecture at the University of Notre Dame. He is known for his beautiful classical churches such as Our Lady of the Most Holy Trinity Chapel in Santa Paula, CA; the Shrine Church of Our Lady of Guadalupe in LaCrosse, WI; and the Cathedral of Saint Joseph in Sioux Falls, SD. He is also the author of The Church Building as a Sacred Place: Beauty, Transcendence, and the Eternal, and editor of the journal Sacred Architecture.

The new town of Cayalá in Guatemala includes civic buildings, monuments and amenities in a mixed-use environment. It was created by a group including the Town Architects of Cayalá, Maria Fernanda Sánchez and Pedro Pablo Godoy of Estudio Urbano (a firm based in Guatemala that specializes in urbanism, traditional architecture, and landscape design); previous Arthur Ross Award winner, architect, and urban planner Léon Krier; and the Leal family, led by developer Hector Leal.

Founder of his well-known architectural firm, Stern also served many years as dean of the Yale School of Architecture. He was cited for “promoting an expansive view of architecture.”

Anne Day has photographed classical buildings such as the U.S. Capitol and the New York Public Library, for many publications about classical architecture, including five books by Henry Hope Reed as well as the Classical America series publication, Edwin Howland Blashfield: Master American Muralist.

Paula Wallace is the president and co-founder of the The Savannah College of Art and Design (SCAD). Under her leadership, SCAD contributed to the revival of the city through adaptive reuse and preservation of historic buildings. SCAD offers more than 100 academic degree programs in 42 majors.

The jury for the 2016 Arthur Ross Awards included Chair Robert Davis, Christine Franck, Kirk Henckels, Michael Lykoudis, Scott Merrill, and James L. Strickland. Co-Chairs were Gilbert P. Schafer III, Suzanne Tucker, and Bunny Williams, and honorary chairs were Janet C. Ross, Suzanne R. Santry, and Ambassador William J. vanden Heuvel.

The awards dinner will be held May 2 at the University Club in NYC. To purchase tickets for the event, please contact Kathleen Maloney Lo at (212) 730-9646 x 106 or at

Buying Guide Spotlight

Cambek™ Designer Doors Custom Carriage House Style Garage Doors

Cambek - Designer Doors ◆

Cambek™- Designer Doors® is a manufacturer of fine custom entry doors, garage doors, and matching millwork.

Related Articles

This plaster model of the Mansion House, one of the grandest surviving Georgian town palaces in London, was created by Timothy Richards in 2005. The building was constructed after the Great Fire of London and the First Lord Mayor took up residence in 1752.

2013 Arthur Ross Awards

The ICAA has announced the winners of the 2013 Arthur Ross Awards for excellence in preserving and advancing the Classical tradition.

2022 Arthur Ross Awards 1

2022 Arthur Ross Awards for Excellence in the Classical Tradition Announced

This year’s winners—an illustrious roster of architects, artisans, designers, educators, writers, and urbanists—includes Appleton Partners LLP, John Danzer-Munder Skiles, Suzanne Rheinstein & Associates, Arne Maynard Garden Design, Timothy Smith and Jonathan Taylor, Barry Bergdoll, and Raymond L. Gindroz.