2014 Arthur Ross Awards


The winners of the 2014 Arthur Ross Awards include four individuals, an educational institution and an architectural firm, representing a wide range of talent, skill and contributions to the arts and to society. The awards, formally known as the Arthur Ross Awards for Excellence in the Classical Tradition, are presented each year by the Institute of Classical Architecture & Art.

“Now in its thirty-third year, the Arthur Ross Awards will once again gather the finest in contemporary classicism to recognize the outstanding achievements of six deserving recipients who exemplify excellence in their respective fields,” says ICAA president Peter Lyden. The program was established in 1982 by Classical America advocate, Arthur Ross (1910–2007), and its president, Henry Hope Reed (1916–2013), to recognize the achievements and contributions of architects, painters, sculptors, artisans, landscape designers, educators, publishers, patrons and others dedicated to preserving and advancing the Classical tradition.

The jurors for the 2014 awards were: Adele Chatfield-Taylor (jury chair), Don Ruggles, Gil Schafer, Peter Pennoyer, Francis Morrone, Charles Warren, Deborah Nevins, Eduard Zepsa and Miriam Ellner.

In the category of architecture, this year’s honoree isDavid M. Schwarz Architects of Washington, DC. The jury cited the firm’s “deep conviction to classical principles,” noting that it “produces elegant designs for large-scale public works: museums, concert halls, libraries and sports arenas.”

A stewardship award went to Salve Regina University in Newport, RI. The ICAA noted that “In protecting the architectural legacy of its campus, the university has commissioned new buildings that harmonize with historic structures.”

Dennis Collier of Bangor, PA, was recognized for artisanship. “His exacting woodcarving demonstrates that the brilliance of the mind can be expressed in the subtlety of the hand,” the ICAA noted.

Edward J. Fraughton of South Jordan, UT, was cited for his accomplishments in sculpture. “His sculptures inspire us to see beyond ourselves while enriching our world with the timeless qualities of grace, passion and beauty,” the ICAA jurors noted.

In the history/journalism/editing/publishingcategory, Stephen Fox of Houston, TX, was the honoree. “One of the nation’s outstanding architectural writers, the foremost chronicler of architect John Staub, he is the civic conscience of America’s fourth largest city,” the ICAA stated.

The Board of Directors honor went to Jacob Collins, New York, NY, renowned artist, teacher and founder of the Grand Central Academy and the Water Street Atelier. “He is a champion of humanism and the classical tradition,” the jurors noted.

The awards were presented at a dinner in New York City on May 5. For more information, go to www.classicist.org.  TB

Buying Guide Spotlight

Indow Windows


Indow window inserts press inside your window frames without a mounting bracket to give you all the comfort and efficiency of high-end replacement windows.

Related Articles

This plaster model of the Mansion House, one of the grandest surviving Georgian town palaces in London, was created by Timothy Richards in 2005. The building was constructed after the Great Fire of London and the First Lord Mayor took up residence in 1752. Photo: courtesy of Timothy Richards (W.W. Norton, 2011)

2013 Arthur Ross Awards

The ICAA has announced the winners of the 2013 Arthur Ross Awards for excellence in preserving and advancing the Classical tradition.

In the category of Commercial, Civic & Institutional Architecture, George Ranalli, Architect, won for a new community center building at the Saratoga Avenue Community Center in Brooklyn, NY. His work included the design of the 5,500-sq.ft. new addition, and 2,500-sq.ft. of renovation. “George Ranalli’s design suavely addressed the Housing Authority budget and guidelines, which restricted low windows and required bullet-proof glass,” said Loth. “Admittedly, this is not a Classical-style building, but we can’t say it’s not a classic.”

2013 Stanford White Awards

The Institute of Classical Architecture & Art presented its first annual Stanford White Awards at the historic Racquet and Tennis Club in New York City.