Skip to main content

2013 Arthur Ross Awards

The ICAA has announced the winners of the 2013 Arthur Ross Awards for excellence in preserving and advancing the Classical tradition.

The Institute of Classical Architecture & Art (ICAA) has announced the winners of the 2013 Arthur Ross Awards for excellence in preserving and advancing the Classical tradition. This year, honorees were named in the categories of architecture, artisanship, patronage, a board of directors honor and interior design.

More than 100 nominations were submitted to a jury chaired by Barbara Eberlain, principal of Eberlain Design Consultants, Ltd. and president of the ICAA Philadelphia Chapter. She was joined on the national jury by Robert Baird, Kate Brodsky, Melissa del Vecchio, Coby Everdell, John Margolis, Scott Merrill, Peter Pennoyer and Barbara Sallick.

“Our team marveled at the quality and breadth of the entries, which explored and expressed the ideals of Classicism in architecture, landscape architecture, craftsmanship, artisanship and, for the first time, interior design,” says Eberlain. “There were also important additions to our body of knowledge in history, research and publishing. We were particularly impressed by the notable accomplishments in stewardship and patronage; without these champions, our built environment would not enjoy such beauty and integrity.”

The awards will be presented on May 6 at the University Club in New York City. For more information, go to The 2013 winners are:

Fairfax & Sammons Architects of New York and Palm Beach was cited for its attention to architectural proportion. “Its partners are renowned for their aesthetic refinement in the design of timeless buildings,” states the ICAA.

Interior Design
Thomas Jayne of New York, NY, was awarded for his ability to draw upon the past to seek details to deepen and enliven interiors. His designs “exquisitely connect history and place.”

Miriam Ellner of New York, NY, was cited for her skills in the unique field of Verre Eglomisé. The ICAA noted that her mastery “adds depth and luster to great works of design, sustaining a rare skill of traditional ornament.”

The ICAA cited Timothy Richards of Bath, England, for his plaster architectural models that have “advanced the genre of 18th-century art.” His work was noted as “a source of inspiration and delight.”

Board of Directors Honor
Richard Cameron of Brooklyn, NY, was awarded the Board of Directors Honor Award. He is the co-founder of the ICAA (then known as Institute of Classical Architecture), a teacher and founder of Atelier & Co. He is noted by the ICAA as, “a 21st century Beaux-Arts Atelier.”

Jonathan Nelson of Providence, RI, was recognized for his generosity and demanding standards for a new sports center at Brown University, which has renewed enthusiasm for traditional architecture in the campus community.

Buying Guide Spotlight

100 year window by hull millwork dsc09712

100 Year Window by Hull Millwork

Hull Millworks' 100 Year Window is a return to excellence and long-term performance. Brent Hull, a millwork craftsman,and custom builder has created a line of historically authentic windows built with superior materials and construction methods but with newer details for better energy efficiency.

Related Articles

In the category of Commercial, Civic & Institutional Architecture, George Ranalli, Architect, won for a new community center building at the Saratoga Avenue Community Center in Brooklyn, NY. His work included the design of the 5,500-sq.ft. new addition, and 2,500-sq.ft. of renovation. “George Ranalli’s design suavely addressed the Housing Authority budget and guidelines, which restricted low windows and required bullet-proof glass,” said Loth. “Admittedly, this is not a Classical-style building, but we can’t say it’s not a classic.”

2013 Stanford White Awards

The Institute of Classical Architecture & Art presented its first annual Stanford White Awards at the historic Racquet and Tennis Club in New York City.