ICAA New England Announces Third Annual Bulfinch Awards

The ICA&A New England chapter honors the best of the region's Classical design.
By Traditional Building Magazine ,

The ICAA New England chapter has announced the winners of the third annual Bulfinch Awards, honoring the best of the region's Classical design.

The New England Chapter of the Institute of Classical Architecture & Art (ICA&A) has recognized seven architectural firms in six categories for outstanding Classical projects in New England. "This is the third year that we have organized the awards, which recognize Classical projects built in New England and designed by New England firms," says Aaron Helfand, chair of the Bulfinch Awards Committee. "We received more entries this year than in either of the past two years, and we have been delighted by their consistently high quality. It is evident from these projects that the Classical tradition in New England is steadily gaining strength.

"The winning entries display both a solid foundation in architectural history and the creative and artistic license necessary to keep the tradition lively and engaging," he adds. "Whether inspired by Colonial, Greek Revival or Shingle Style architecture, these projects demonstrate a sophisticated understanding of the way the Classical language of architecture has been adapted to New England over the past four centuries, and in so doing, they both enhance the region's sense of place and connect us to a global architectural heritage."

This year's jury was comprised of architects Richard Economakis, Thomas Gordon Smith and Duncan Stroik. All three are professors at the University of Notre Dame School of Architecture.

The awards will be presented a ceremony at the Massachusetts State House on November 7. The keynote speaker will be Prof. Thomas Gordon Smith. For more information and to purchase tickets, visitwww.classicist-ne.org.

This year's winners include:

Residential - Restoration, Renovation, or Addition more than 5,000 sq.ft.: "Cambridge Residence," Cambridge, MA, by Judge, Skelton & Smith Architects;

Residential - Restoration, Renovation, or Addition less than 5,000 sq.ft.: "Shingle Style Carriage House," Coastal, MA, by Frank Shirley Architects;

Residential - New Construction more than 5,000 sq.ft.: "Plantingfield Way," Edgartown, MA, by Patrick Ahearn Architect;

Residential - New Construction less than 5,000 sq.ft: "Rocksyde," Cape Ann, MA, by Albert, Righter & Tittmann Architects and "Newton Shingle Style," Newton, MA, by LDa Architecture & Interiors;

Interior Design: "Beacon Hill Residence," Boston, MA, by Gregory Van Boven Interior Design

Landscape Architecture: "Country Gentleman's Farm," Weston, MA, by Gregory Lombardi Design

In addition, merit awards were presented in these categories: Residential: "Greek Revival Residence," Cambridge, MA, by Thomas R. Huth, Huth Architects

Residential - Restoration, less than 5,000 sq.ft.:"Cape Cod House," North Chatham, MA, Judge, Skelton & Smith, Architects.

Residential - New Construction, more than 5,000 sq.ft.: "King's Shade Residence," Cape Cod, MA, by Hutker Architects, Inc.

Commercial: "The Boathouse," Edgartown, MA, by Patrick Ahearn Architect, LLC. TB

Loading ...
Join the Conversation